Strangers to Friends #11 (Feat. Archie)

haohao du
Oct 13, 2024

--

the first friend I made in New York, Archie, who saved me from a speeding car and helped walk me to the local library 📚🥹👉👈

It was my first day in New York back in August 2023 and as I was about to cross the road, I felt someone pull my backpack back as a car whirred past where I would have stepped. I looked behind me with an appreciative glance towards the stranger who saved me. I introduced myself and learned the name of my new friend was Archie.

We talked about how I was new to the city, he shared how his first few years moving to NYC from Europe and the differences between his home town and New York. We joked about the fact that there was a lot of garbage in the city but people still love the city.

Fun running into you and hope you have a great workout man!

--

--

haohao du

Stories from a student who is striving to make an impact in the lives of the people around him.