Strangers to Friends #10 (feat. Amy)

haohao du
1 min readOct 6, 2024

--

i got lost in San Jose one day without data, water, or food, and this kind lady, Amy, who owned a nails salon, gave me 3 bottles of water and shoo’d me away

One day I spent 2 hours walking through DT San Jose nearly passing out from dehydration because I simultaneously missed a Caltrain and ran out of data, during the day of a power outage. I was really struggling to get water because a lot of stores were closed due to the outage. By some true fortune, I eventually ran into a kind Vietnamese lady named Amy in the parking lot and asked if she knew if of any water fountains nearby.

Less than 20 seconds into me talking, she motioned for me to follow her into her nail salon and handed me 3 bottles of water. Kindly waving me off when I tried to pay her, saying how “when she first moved to America, someone helped her out so the best thing I can do is help someone else and pass it forward”. I couldn’t believe the kindness of this stranger.

If you are in Downtown San Jose I implore you to visit Amy’s nail salon called Focus Hair and Nails and say hi to Amy for me!

--

--

haohao du

Stories from a student who is striving to make an impact in the lives of the people around him.